Photo by Diliara Garifullina
For generations, road trippers and Mississippi locals have been pulling into a gravel parking lot beside U.S. Highway 61 to gape at the towering figure of a twenty-eight-foot woman, her voluminous hoopskirt framing the entrance to an historic roadside dining destination. Serving as one of Natchez's oddest, most iconic, and most beloved Southern food and hospitality restaurants since 1994, Mammy’s Cupboard is relocating and rebranding under a new name: “The Cupboard.” First built in 1940 as a gas station and convenience store, time had taken its toll on the unique structure, pushing owners Tori Johnson and her parents, Lorna and Terry Martine, to relocate the restaurant to a site at 33 Sergeant S. Prentiss Drive, near Southside Market in Natchez. The move should be complete by September 1, and notwithstanding the realities of a new location, a new name, and a more conventional setting, the owners’ commitment remains the same: providing patrons with an iconic pit-stop serving hearty, home-cooked meals, and fantastic pies, too.
Learn more at the Mammy's Cupboard Facebook page.